Need help planning a Disneyland trip

Need help planning a Disneyland trip

While I'm not an expert, I like to think of myself as VERY knowledgeable about WDW. I plan extensive trips there for my family and help a lot friends. We've always stayed on-site and the meal plan is a must for us.

My problem is I want to go to Disneyland; I've never been. What are some basics I need to know? How long would you suggest going? Is the meal plan the same as the one at WDW? Would you recommend staying at a Disney hotel or is a neighbor hotel okay?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    SAHM to 3 wonderful kiddos (7, 6, and almost 1)
    WDW-POFQ Sept '09
    WDW-POFQ Sept '11

Future Trips:
    WDW-Dec '13
    Disneyland-Hopefully one of these days!

Save your money and stay at another hotel they are all in walking distance u may only need 3 days max its a lot smaller and if u are a Disney fan u maybe a little disappointed on how well the place is layed out but it's fun cause heck your still in Disney

Elgin, IL (a suburb about 40 miles outside Chicago)
    We were at Disneyland a little over a year ago (we were there last Valentine's Day). Was with my DH and our DD3 and my sister-in-law (she lives in CA). We checked in on a Sunday and checked out on a Thursday (had 6 day park passes). Due to there being 3adults and of course a 3 year old who still took naps, we built in nap and rest time. For us it was the perfect amount of time, we were not rushed, and we did everything we wanted to do. We stayed at the Grand Californian, just for the great location (entry to California Adventure and Downtown Disney right from the hotel! Making nap time a whole lot easier.) I love WDW and Yes Disneyland is much smaller, but it has it's own charm! It was Walt's baby, and it still has Mickey toontown, Mr. Toads wild ride, Snow White's scary adventure and coming soon Cars Land.....As the old saying goes... "good things come in small packages!". Have a magical trip!