Im new to the DVC

Im new to the DVC

Hi there, I've just joined the DVC and am a little confused. AKL is my home resort so does that mean I can book there 11 months in advance and anywhere else 7 months in advance? What about non disney property? When can I book that? Would you consider doing disneyland and stay off sure nearby or would you spend the extra points to stay on site? Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by UK mum of 4
    Hi there, I've just joined the DVC and am a little confused. AKL is my home resort so does that mean I can book there 11 months in advance and anywhere else 7 months in advance? What about non disney property? When can I book that? Would you consider doing disneyland and stay off sure nearby or would you spend the extra points to stay on site? Thanks
    I don't know the answers to all your questions but I can confirm that you can book a vacation at AKL 11 months out and anywhere else 7 months out. When you log onto your account via the DVC web site it does list that info in the vacation planning tools ( it gives the actual dates that you can book out to).

Not sure about non-Disney property. We were not sure if it is a good (cost effective) way to spend points. I would be interested to see what other DVC members think about this topic.

Never been to DL but I would think it would be worth staying there with your points. Especially if you know you need to use up points in they are already banked and need to be used or you will lose them.

Sorry I couldn't answer everything.

Re: Im new to the DVC

I'd called Member Services to ask about non Disney locations. I'd be curious because since they added a hotel in NYC we may use points for a non Disney location. The points are pretty decent for weekdays but not the weekend. Don't forget about the $95 charge for using non Disney locations (and non DVC locations) when using your points.
    32 visits to WDW. Visits since 2008: