Passarini wins Disney award

By Mark Benson / Tribune Correspondent
Tuesday, September 9, 2003

Before her death last year, Wayland's Katie Lynch wanted to make sure the man who trained her to walk 26.5 feet for a Boston Marathon was recognized for being an inspiration to her and others he taught.

The 28-inch tall Lynch, who struggled to walk at all, nominated Wayland educator John Passarini for the Disney Teacher Award, remembering the times he urged her to walk through hallways.

Yesterday, Passarini appeared before a national audience on "The Wayne Brady Show" as Disney's Teacher of the Year to tell the story of how Lynch inspired him, just as he had her.

"I am a better teacher, I am a better father, I am a better human being because I know Katie Lynch," Passarini wrote in his award-winning essay to the Disney selection committee.

Brady was visibly moved by Passarini, as was Passarini's wife, who wept joyfully in the studio audience.

"We're both kind of stunned," said his wife, Gloria Passarini. "His passion is to get kids to be able to learn and develop themselves and be creative people in their own right."

Passarini shared with Brady lessons he learned during his teaching career, especially from Lynch. Nearly 15 years ago, Passarini met Lynch for the first time, when she walked into his Wayland phys-ed class as a brand-new eighth-grader.

Passarini has never been the same since.

"I believe my students have benefited from my relationship with Katie Lynch," Passarini wrote in his award-winning essay to the Disney selection committee.

Lynch's life was a testament to the triumph of the human spirit. Born with a connective tissue disorder, she was in constant physical pain and bravely survived 13 separate life-threatening surgeries until her death last year.

According to Lynch, Pass gave her vital energy and knowledge necessary for her success.